Carlos S. Alvarado, PhD, Research Fellow, Parapsychology Foundation

Dr. Dean Radin is well known both in and outside parapsychological circles. I believe I first met him in a convention of the Parapsychological Association sometime in the late 1980s, although he attended a PA convention for the first time in 1978.

Dr. Dean Radin

Dr. Dean Radin

Dean is currently Chief Scientist at the Institute of Noetic Sciences (IONS) and has worked at a variety of places such as AT&T Bell Labs, Princeton University, University of Edinburgh, and SRI International. He is well known in parapsychology for his innovative experimental studies, among them: Radin, D. I. (1989). Searching for “signatures” in anomalous human-machine interaction research: A neural network approach. Journal of Scientific Exploration, 3, 185-200; Radin, D. I. (1997). Unconscious perception of future emotions: An experiment in presentiment. Journal of Scientific Exploration, 11, 163-180; Radin, D. I., Machado, F. and Zangari, W. (2000). Effects of distant healing intention through time and space: Two exploratory studies. Subtle Energies and Energy Medicine, 11, 207-240; Radin, D. I., Hayssen, G. & Walsh, J. (2007). Effects of intentionally enhanced chocolate on mood. Explore: The Journal of Science and Healing, 3, 485-492; Radin, D. I., Michel, L, Wendland, P., Rickenbach, R., Delorme, A., Galdamez, K. (2012). Consciousness and the double-slit interference pattern: Six experiments. Physics Essays, 25, 157-171; Shiah, Y-J & Radin, D. I. (2013). Metaphysics of the tea ceremony: Testing the roles of intention and belief on mood when drinking tea. Explore: The Journal of Science and Healing, 9, 355-360.

Radin Conscious UniverseDean has been elected President of the Parapsychological Association four times, which shows the high regard in which his colleagues hold him. He has published the following books: The Conscious Universe (HarperOne, 1997), Entangled Minds (Simon & Schuster, 2006), and Supernormal (Random House, 2013), all of which remain in print and two of which have won awards.

Radin Entangled MindsRadin Supernormal

Interview Questions

How did you get interested in parapsychology?

I seem to have arrived on this planet with an imperative to know. A friend joked that I must have been born with an extra “why” chromosome. My first grade teacher wrote in her end-of-year student evaluation that “Dean will be one of our future scientists.” I don’t remember what I may have done that influenced her assessment, but I do know that a persistent driving force throughout my life has been curiosity. I wanted to know how the universe worked, why I or anyone else existed, and if there was any purpose to anything. This wasn’t a matter of existential angst as much as a chronic state of existential curiosity.

My first “career” was playing the violin. By age 11 I won a scholarship to the Hartt School, a performing arts conservatory at the University of Hartford, Connecticut, and I had many stints as concertmaster in various orchestras. In college, I took the honors program in physics and I eventually earned undergraduate and masters degrees in electrical engineering and a Ph.D. in psychology.

I first encountered the idea of psychic phenomena as a pre-teen by reading every comic book, fairy tale, parable, myth, and science fiction story I could find. When those were exhausted I read the “true tales” of the Eastern mystic masters. No one in my immediate family ever reported psychic or mystical experiences, but somehow I felt that the psi-oriented aspects of those stories were more than mere fantasy. In 1968, the Star Trek television show broadcast an episode entitled “The Empath”. The titular character was a woman from an alien race whose empathic sense was so well developed that she could take on the pain of others and dissipate it through herself. From that story I learned that while I did not have classic psychic or mystical experiences, I did share some characteristics of an empath, which may have explained why I was attracted to that literature in the first place.

What are your main interests in the field and how have you contributed to its development?

Like most scientists my activities are influenced by available funds, so over the years I’ve followed the money and have investigated various aspects of telepathy, presentiment, precognition, mediumship, DMILS, and mind-matter interactions involving RNGs, cell cultures, water, chocolate, tea, and more recently, optical systems. I’ve also been interested in applying analytical methods to psi data, leading to several meta-analyses, neural network analyses, complex systems analyses, and so on. I’ve conducted psi research while at Bell Laboratories, SRI International, Princeton University, the Koestler Parapsychology Unit at the University of Edinburgh, the University of Nevada, Interval Research Corporation, Boundary Institute, and for the past 15 years, at the Institute of Noetic Sciences.

Why do you think that parapsychology is important?

At minimum, psi phenomena remind us that today’s scientific worldview is incomplete. At maximum, it suggests that our assumptions about human potential are vastly underestimated. I’d like to know which of today’s assumptions are incomplete, and what better assumptions we should consider. There is no better way to do that than through the careful study of those anomalies we call psi. On the whole, gaining a better understanding of psi will almost certainly lead to revisions about who and what we think we are. As a scientist, I think that’s the most exciting place to be.

In your view, what are the main problems in parapsychology today as a scientific field?

The woo-woo taboo remains a major problem; perhaps it is the major problem. There is no lack of private interest in psi among mainstream scientists and funding agencies, even at the highest levels. This allows a small cadre of uber-skeptics to get away with presenting a false picture of parapsychology through popular outlets like Wikipedia, and all of that combined significantly slows progress. I suspect that this taboo will continue to persist for a long time because the people who inculcate a false history are not motivated by a rational consideration of the evidence. What will eventually break the taboo is not necessarily better evidence from parapsychology, although that will certainly help, but rather a growing realization within mainstream science that its worldview is converging toward a picture of the universe where psi is no longer viewed as anomalous.

Can you mention some of your current projects?

I continue to do many radio and television interviews, documentary films, and conference presentations to help educate the general public and scientists about psi research. I’ve given over 300 interviews and talks at last count, including something like 50 television shows in the US, UK and Japan, many newspapers and magazines, a dozen invited presentations at traditional yoga ashrams in the US, the Bahamas, and in India, and at universities including Cambridge, Edinburgh, Princeton, Harvard, Stanford, the Sorbonne (University of Paris), and the University of Allahabad (India). I’ve also been invited to speak at Bell Labs, Google, Johnson & Johnson, iClif (an international leadership organization in Kuala Lumpur, supported by the Central Bank of Malaysia), the (US) Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, the US Navy’s Strategic Studies Group, and the Naval Postgraduate School. And I’ve hosted or co-hosted invited conferences on psi research at IONS, the University of British Columbia, and the (US) National Academy of Sciences.

I also accept invitations for many smaller podcasts and late night talk radio shows on “paranormal” themes as a way to help inform the lay public on how to discriminate between scientific and non-scientific ways of studying psi. For the same reason, I do lots of interviews with authors writing works of fiction or nonfiction. I find that doing these interviews helps me to sharpen how to speak about psi in simple but accurate ways, and this has had the beneficial side effect of making my academic talks that much clearer.

I regard all of these public and private outreach efforts as rather odd given my basic temperament. I much prefer to be quietly working on something in the lab rather than speaking in front of the camera or an audience, or organizing conferences. But because I feel an obligation to help dissolve the woo-woo taboo and educate people about the science of psi, I do these activities trusting that I can reach a few more people who might have otherwise remained either “true disbelievers” or “true believers.”

I’ve also written some three dozen book chapters, three popular books, one textbook, and authored or coauthored over 70 articles in peer-reviewed journals ranging from the psi-specialty journals, to journals in physics, neuroscience, psychology, medicine, consciousness studies and other topics (e.g., Journal of Parapsychology, European Journal of Parapsychology, Journal of the Society for Psychical Research, Journal of the American Society for Psychical Research, Physics Essays, Foundations of Physics, Foundations of Physics Letters, Frontiers in Human Neuroscience, Behavioral and Brain Sciences, Frontiers in Psychology, The Humanistic Psychologist, British Journal of Psychology, Psychological Bulletin, Journal of Educational Psychology, Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine, Missouri Medicine, Explore, Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine, Journal of Consciousness Studies, Journal of Scientific Exploration, Subtle Energies and Energy Medicine, Neuroquantology, Perceptual and Motor Skills).

As for my research projects, I have a half-dozen active projects on various aspects of psi perception and mind-matter interaction. I am also looking forward to starting a new project this year, on aspects of “energy medicine.”

Selected Bibliography

Books and Edited Volumes

Radin, D. I. (2013). Supernormal: Science, yoga, and the evidence for extraordinary psychic abilities. New York: Random House. (Translations to: French, Russian, and Chinese)

Mitchell, E. D., White, J., Schlitz, M. & Radin, D. (Eds.). (2011). Psychic exploration: A challenge for science, understanding the nature and power of consciousness. New York: Cosimo Books.

Radin, D. I. (2009). The noetic universe: Scientific evidence for psychic phenomena. London: Corgi Books.

Radin, D. I. (2006). Entangled minds: Extrasensory experiences in a quantum reality. New York: Paraview Pocket Books, Simon & Schuster. (Translations to: Arabic, Bulgarian, French, Japanese, Latvian, and Portuguese)

Martin, M. with Radin, D. I. & Schlitz, M. J. (2006). ESP: Extrasensory Perception. Mankato, MN: Capstone Press.

Radin, D. I. (1997). The conscious universe. San Francisco: HarperCollins. (Translations to: Chinese, French, Italian, Korean, and Turkish)

Weiner, D. H. & Radin, D. I. (1986). Research in parapsychology 1985, Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press.

Reynolds, R. E. & Radin, D. I. (1977). Using evaluation in the classroom. Champaign, IL: Stipes Publishing Company.

Book Chapters

Radin, D. I. & Pierce, A. (in press). Psi and psychophysiology. In E. Cardeña, J. Palmer, & D. Marcusson-Clavertz, (Eds.), Parapsychology: A Handbook for the 21st Century. Jefferson, NC: McFarland.

Radin, D. I. & Pierce, A. (in press). Physiological methods in psi research. In E. May & S. Marwaha (Ed.), Extrasensory Perception: Support, Skepticism, and Science. Praeger.

Radin, D. I. (in press). Forward. In L. Storm & A. Rock (Ed.). Searching for psi.

Radin, D. I. (2012). Seeing and not seeing eternity. In S. Kakar & J. Kripal (Ed.). Seriously strange: Thinking anew about psychical experiences. New York: Penguin/Viking.

Radin, D. I. (2011). Predicting the unpredictable: 75 years of experimental evidence. In D. P. Sheehan (Ed.). Quantum retrocausation: Theory and experiment. Melville, NY: American Institute of Physics, AIP Conference Proceedings.

Radin, D. I. (2011). Intuition and the noetic. In. M. Sinclair (Ed.) Handbook of intuition research. Northampton, MA: Edward Elgar.

Radin, D. I., Stone, J., Levine, E., Eskandarnejad, S., Schlitz, M., Kozak, L., Mandel, D., & Hayssen, G. (2011). Compassionate intention as a therapeutic intervention by partners of cancer patients: Effects of distant intention on the patients’ autonomic nervous system. In E. Bragdon, J. Lake (Eds). Practices from Spiritist Centers and Spiritist Psychiatric Hospitals in Brazil. Philadelphia PA, Singing Dragon.

Radin, D. I. (2010). Beyond the boundaries of the brain. In Perry, Elaine, Daniel Collerton, Fiona E.N. LeBeau and Heather Ashton (eds.), New Horizons in the Neuroscience of Consciousness, Amsterdam: John Benjamins Publishing Company.

Radin, D. I. (2010). A brief history of science and psychic phenomena. In S. Krippner & Harris Friedman (Ed)., Debating psychic experience: Human potential or human illusion? New York: Praeger .

Radin, D. I. (2010). The critic’s lament. In S. Krippner & Harris Friedman (Ed)., Debating psychic experience: Human potential or human illusion? New York: Praeger .

Radin, D. I. (2010). Psychophysiology of psi. In J. Millay (Ed.) Radiant Minds. Millay Publishing.

Radin, D. I. (2010). Children of the world, keep asking the hard questions. In W. Murtha (ed.). 100 words: Two hundred visionaries. San Francisco: Conari Press, pp. 302-303.

Radin, D. I. (2009). The challenge of psi. In S. Martin (Ed.), Cosmic Conversations. Franklin Lakes, NJ: New Page Books.

Radin, D. I. (2009). Mind over time. In S. Marohn, Audacious aging. Santa Rosa, CA: Elite Books.

Radin, D. I. (2007). A brief history of the potential future. In T. Pfeiffer & J. E. Mack (Eds)., Mind before matter. Washington, Winchester, UK: O Books.

Schlitz, M. & Radin, D. I. (2007). Prayer and intention in distant healing: Assessing the evidence. (Chapter 9). In I A. Serlin, K. Rockefeller & S. Brown (Eds). Whole person healthcare. Volume 2: Psychology, Spirituality, and Health, pp. 177-190. Westport, Connecticut: Praeger.

Radin, D. I. (2006). Psychophysiological evidence of possible retrocausal effects in humans. In D. Sheehan (Ed)., Frontiers of Time: Retrocausation Experiment and Theory. American Institutes of Physics.

Radin, D. I. (2005). Science and psychic phenomena. In D. J. Brown (Ed.) Conversations on the edge of the apocalypse. New York: Palgrave/Macmillian.

Radin, D. I. (2005). What’s ahead? In M. A. Thalbourne and L. Storm (Eds.) Parapsychology in the 21st Century: The Future of Psychical Research, McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers.

Schlitz, M. & Radin, D. I. (2003). Telepathy in the ganzfeld: State of the evidence. In Jonas, W. & Crawford, C. (Eds.), Healing, Intention and Energy Medicine. London: Harcourt Health Sciences.

Radin, D. I. & Nelson, R. D. (2003). Meta-analysis of mind-matter interaction experiments: 1959 – 2000. In Jonas, W. & Crawford, C. (Eds.), Healing, Intention and Energy Medicine. London: Harcourt Health Sciences, 39-48.

Nelson, R. D. & Radin, D. I. (2003). FieldREG experiments and group consciousness: Extending REG/RNG research to real-world situations. In Jonas, W. & Crawford, C. (Eds.), Healing, Intention and Energy Medicine. London: Harcourt Health Sciences.

Nelson, R. D. & Radin, D. I. (2001). Statistically robust anomalous effects: Replication in random event generator experiments. In Rao, K. R. (Ed.) Basic research in parapsychology. Second edition. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Company.

Radin, D. I. (2001). Seeking spirits in the laboratory. Chapter in Houran, J. & Lange, R. (Ed.), Hauntings and Poltergeists: Multidisciplinary Perspectives. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Company.

Radin, D. I. (2001). Forward to Atwater, F. H., Captain of my ship, master of my soul. Charlottesville, VA, Hampton Roads Publishing Co.

Bierman, D. & Radin, D. I. (2000). Anomalous unconscious emotional responses: Evidence for a reversal of the arrow of time. In S. Hameroff, A. Kaszniak, & D. Chalmers (Eds.) Towards a science of consciousness III: The Third Tucson Discussions and Debates. Boston, MA: MIT Press.

Radin, D. I. (2000). Can science seek the soul? What is parapsychology? Can ESP affect your life? In R. L. Kuhn (Ed.) Closer to truth: Challenging current belief. New York: McGraw Hill.

Radin, D. I. & Nelson, R. D. (1988). Repeatable evidence for anomalous human-machine interactions. In M. L. Albertson, D. S. Ward, & K. P. Freeman (Eds.), Paranormal Research, Fort Collins, CO.: Rocky Mountain Research Institute, 306 – 317.

Ortony, A. & Radin, D. I. (1987). SAPIENS: Spreading activation processor for information encoded in network structures. In N. Sharkey (Ed.), Review of cognitive science. Norwood, NJ: Ablex Press.

Radin, D. I. (1984). Effects of command language punctuation on human performance. In G. Salvendy (Ed.), Human-computer interaction, Amsterdam: Elsevier.

Journal Publications

Radin, D. (2015). Meditation and the nonlocal mind. Explore: The Journal of Science and Healing, 1, 82-84.

Mossbridge, J. Tressoldi, P. Utts, J., Ives, J., Radin, D., Jonas, W. (2014). Predicting the unpredictable: Critical analysis and practical implications of predictive anticipatory activity. Frontiers in Human Neuroscience. doi: 10.3389/fnhum.2014.00146.

Radin, D. (2014). Out of one’s mind or beyond the brain: The challenge of interpreting near-death experiences. Missouri Medicine, 111 (1), 22- 26.

Delorme, A., Beischel, J., Michel, L., Boccuzzi, M., Radin, D. & Mills, P. (2013). Electrocortical activity associated with subjective communication with the deceased. Frontiers in Psychology.

Radin, D. I., Delorme, A.., Michel, L., Johnston, J. (2013). Psychophysical interactions with a double-slit interference pattern: Experiments and a model. Physics Essays. 26 (4), 553-566.

Shiah, Y-J & Radin, D. I. (2013). Metaphysics of the tea ceremony: Testing the roles of intention and belief on mood when drinking tea. Explore: The Journal of Science and Healing, 9, 355-360.

Radin, D. (2012). Psi-mediated optimism and the future of parapsychology. Journal of Parapsychology, 76 (Supplement), 45-46.

Schlitz, M., Hopf, H. W., Eskenazi, L., Vieten, C., & Radin, D. (2012). Distant healing of surgical wounds: An exploratory study. Explore: The Journal of Science and Healing, 8: 223-230.

Radin, D. I., Michel, L, Wendland, P., Rickenbach, R., Delorme, A., Galdamez, K. (2012). Consciousness and the double-slit interference pattern: Six experiments. Physics Essays, 25 (2), 157-171.

Radin, D. I., Vieten, C., Michel, L., & Delorme, A. (2011). Electrocortical activity prior to unpredictable stimuli in meditators and non-meditators. Explore: The Journal of Science and Healing, 7, 286-299.

Patrizio E. Tressoldi, P. E., Storm, L. & Radin, D. I. (2010). Extrasensory perception and quantum models of cognition. Neuroquantology, 8 (4), S81-87.

Radin, D. I. & Borges, A. (2009). Intuition through time: What does the seer see? Explore: The Journal of Science and Healing.

Radin, D. I., & Atwater, F. H. (2009). Entrained minds and the behavior of random physical systems. Journal of Scientific Exploration.

Radin, D. I., Lund, N., Emoto, M. & Kizu, T. (2009). Triple-blind replication of the effects of distant intention on water crystal formation. Journal of Scientific Exploration.

Radin, D. I. (2008). Superpowers and the stubborn illusion of separation. Subtle Energies & Energy Medicine, (19) 1, 29-42.

Radin, D. I., Stone, J., Levine, E., Eskandarnejad, S., Schlitz, M., Kozak, L., Mandel, D., & Hayssen, G. (2008). Compassionate intention as a therapeutic intervention by partners of cancer patients: Effects of distant intention on the patients’ autonomic nervous system. Explore: The Journal of Science and Healing, 4 (4), 235-243.

Radin, D. I. (2008). Testing nonlocal observation as a source of intuitive knowledge. Explore: The Journal of Science and Healing. 4(1), 25-35.

Radin, D. I. & Lobach, E. (2007). Toward understanding the placebo effect: Investigating a possible retrocausal factor. Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine. 13, 733–739.

Radin, D. I., Hayssen, G & Walsh, J. (2007). Effects of intentionally enhanced chocolate on mood. Explore: The Journal of Science and Healing. 3(5), 485-492.

Radin, D. I. (2007) Finding or imagining flawed research? The Humanistic Psychologist, 35(3).

Mason, LI, Patterson, RP, and Radin, DI. (2007). Exploratory study: The random number generator and group meditation. Journal of Scientific Exploration. 21 (2), 295–317.

Radin, D. I., Nelson, R. D., Dobyns, Y. & Houtkooper, J. (2006). Assessing the evidence for mind-matter interaction effects. Journal of Scientific Exploration. 20 (3), 361-374.

Radin, D. I. (2006). Experiments testing models of mind-matter interaction. Journal of Scientific Exploration. 20 (3), 375-401.

Schiltz, M., Wiseman, R., Watt, C. & Radin, D. I. (2006). Of two minds: Skeptic-proponent collaboration within parapsychology. British Journal of Psychology, 97, 313-322.

Radin, D. I., Hayssen, G., Emoto, M. & Kizu, T. (2006). Double-blind test of the effects of distant intention on water crystal formation. Explore: The Journal of Science and Healing, 2 (5), 408-411.

Radin, D. I., Nelson, R. D., Dobyns, Y. & Houtkooper, J. (2006). Reexamining psychokinesis: Commentary on the Bösch, Steinkamp and Boller meta-analysis. Psychological Bulletin, 132, 529–532.

Radin, D. I. (2005). Commentary on May et al.’s “Anomalous Anticipatory Skin Conductance Response to Acoustic Stimuli.” Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine, 11 (4), 587-588.

Radin, D. I. (2005). The sense of being stared at: A preliminary meta-analysis. Journal of Consciousness Studies, 12 (6), 95-100.

Radin, D. I. & Schlitz, M. J. (2005). Gut feelings, intuition, and emotions: An exploratory study. Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine, 11 (4), 85-91.

Radin, D. I. (2004). On the sense of being stared at: An analysis and pilot replication. Journal of the Society for Psychical Research. 68, 246-253.

Radin, D. I. (2004). Electrodermal presentiments of future emotions. Journal of Scientific Exploration. 18, 253-274.

Radin, D. I. (2004). Event related EEG correlations between isolated human subjects. Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine, 10, 315-324.

Radin, D. I., Taft, R. & Yount, G, (2004). Possible effects of healing intention on cell cultures and truly random events. Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine, 10, 103-112.

Schlitz, M., Radin, D. I., Malle, B. F., Schmidt, S., Utts, J. & Yount, G. L. (2003). Distant healing intention: Definitions and evolving guidelines for laboratory studies. Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine, 9 (3), A31-A43.

Radin, D. I. (2003). Thinking about telepathy. Think, 3, 23-32.

Nelson, R.D., Radin, D. I., Shoup, R., Bancel, P. (2002). Correlation of continuous random data with major world events. Foundations of Physics Letters, 15 (6), 537-550

Radin, D. I. (2002). Exploring relationships between random physical events and mass human attention: Asking for whom the bell tolls. Journal of Scientific Exploration. 16 (4), 533-548.

Radin, D. I. (2002). A dog that seems to know when his owner is coming home: Effects of geomagnetism. Journal of Scientific Exploration. 16 (4), 579-592.

Radin, D. I. (2002). Exploratory study of relationships between physical entropy and global human attention. Journal of International Society of Life Information Science, 20 (2), 690-694.

Radin, D. I., Machado, F. and Zangari, W. (2000). Effects of distant healing intention through time and space: Two exploratory studies. Subtle Energies and Energy Medicine, 11 (3) 207-240.

Radin, D. I. (2000). What’s ahead? Journal of Parapsychology, 64, 353-364.

Radin, D. I. & Rebman, J. M. (1998). Seeking psi in the casino. Journal of the Society for Psychical Research, 62 (850), 193-219.

Nelson, R, Boesch, H., Boller, E., Dobyns, Y., Houtkooper, J., Lettieri, A., Radin, D., Russek, L., Schwartz, G., & Wesch, J. (1998). Global Resonance of Consciousness: Princess Diana and Mother Teresa. The Electronic Journal of Parapsychology, eJAP. Available at http://noosphere.princeton.edu/rdnelson/diana.html (as of May 2010).

Bierman, D. J. & Radin, D. I. (1997). Anomalous anticipatory response on randomized future conditions. Perceptual and Motor Skills, 84, 689-690.

Radin, D. I. (1997). Unconscious perception of future emotions: An experiment in presentiment. Journal of Scientific Exploration, 11 (2), 163-180.

Dalton, K. S., Morris, R. L., Delanoy, D., Radin, D. I., & Wiseman, R. (1996). Security measures in an automated ganzfeld system. Journal of Parapsychology, 60, 129-147.

Rebman, J. M., Wezelman, R. Radin, D. I., Hapke, R. A. & Gaughan, K. (1996). Remote influence of the autonomic nervous system by focused intention. Subtle Energies and Energy Medicine, 6, 111-134.

Radin, D. I. (1996). Towards a complex systems model of psi performance. Subtle Energies and Energy Medicine, 7, 35-70.

Radin, D. I. & Rebman, J. M. (1996). Are phantasms fact or fantasy? A preliminary investigation of apparitions evoked in the laboratory. Journal of the Society for Psychical Research, 61 (843), 65-87.

Radin, D. I. (1996). Geomagnetic field fluctuations and sports performance. Subtle Energies and Energy Medicine, 6 (3), 217-226.

Radin, D. I., Rebman, J. M. & Cross, M. P. (1996). Anomalous organization of random events by group consciousness. Journal of Scientific Exploration. 10 (1), 143-168.

Radin, D. I., Taylor, R. D. & Braud, W. (1995). Remote mental influence of human electrodermal activity: A pilot replication. European Journal of Parapsychology, 11, 19-34.

Radin, D. I. & Rebman, J. M. (1994). Lunar correlates of normal, abnormal and anomalous human behavior. Subtle Energies and Energy Medicine, 5 (3), 209-238.

Radin, D. I. (1994). On complexity and pragmatism. Journal of Scientific Exploration, 8 (4), 523-534.

Radin, D. I., McAlpine, S. & Cunningham, S. (1994). Geomagnetism and psi in the ganzfeld. Journal of the Society for Psychical Research, 59 (834), 352-363.

Radin, D. I. (1993). Environmental modulation and statistical equilibrium in mind-matter interaction. Subtle Energies and Energy Medicine, 4 (1), 1-30.

Radin, D. I. (1993). Neural network analyses of consciousness-related patterns in random sequences. Journal of Scientific Exploration, 7 (4), 355-374.

Radin, D. I. (1992). Beyond belief: Exploring interactions among mind, body and environment. Subtle Energies and Energy Medicine, 2 (3), 1 – 40.

Radin, D. I. (1990-1991). Statistically enhancing psi effects with sequential analysis: A replication and extension. European Journal of Parapsychology, 8, 98 – 111.

Radin, D. I. & Ferrari, D. C. (1991). Effects of consciousness on the fall of dice: A meta-analysis. Journal of Scientific Exploration, 5, 61-84.

Hix, D., Radin, D. I., Siochi, A. C. & Benel, D. (May, 1991). Computer analysis of user session transcripts for evaluation of the human-computer interface. Conference Proceedings – IEEE SouthEastCon, Volume 2, 1991, Pages 1011-1015.

Radin, D. I. (1990). Testing the plausibility of psi-mediated computer system failures. Journal of Parapsychology, 54, 1-19.

Radin, D. I. (1989). Searching for “signatures” in anomalous human-machine interaction research: A neural network approach. Journal of Scientific Exploration, 3, 185-200.

Radin, D. I. & Nelson, R. D. (1989). Evidence for consciousness-related anomalies in random physical systems. Foundations of Physics, 19, 1499-1514.

Radin, D. I. & Utts, J. M. (1989). Experiments investigating the influence of intention on random and pseudorandom events. Journal of Scientific Exploration, 3, 65-79.

Radin, D. I. (1988). Effects of a priori probability on psi perception: Does precognition predict actual or probable futures? Journal of Parapsychology, 52, 187 – 212.

Nelson, R. D. & Radin, D. I. (1987). When immovable objections meet irresistible evidence. Behavioral and Brain Sciences, 10, 600-601.

Radin, D. I. & Bosworth, J. L. (1987) On statistics for “psientists” and skeptics. Journal of the American Society for Psychical Research, 81, 277-290

Radin, D. I. (1985). Pseudorandom number generators in psi research. Journal of Parapsychology, 49, 303-328.

Radin, D. I. & Bosworth, J. L. (1985) Response distributions in a computer-based perceptual task: Test of four models. Journal of the American Society for Psychical Research, 79, 453-483.

Radin, D. I. (1984). A possible proximity effect on human grip strength. Perceptual and Motor Skills, 58, 887-888.

Goetz, E. T., Reynolds, R. E., Schallert, D. L. & Radin, D. I. (1983). Reading in perspective: What real cops and pretend burglars look for in a story. Journal of Educational Psychology, 75, 500-510.

Radin, D. I. (1982). Experimental attempts to influence pseudorandom number sequences. Journal of the American Society for Psychical Research, 76, 359-374.